Vote Lindley for QB honor

by Antonio Morales

The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award is annually given to the top college quarterback in America. Past winners include of Peyton Manning, Tim Tebow, Sam Bradford and most recently, Cam Newton.

San Diego State senior quarterback Ryan Lindley is in the running for the 2011 Davey O’Brien, and SDSU fans have a chance to help him claim the honor.

Aztec diehards can vote online for Lindley now through Oct. 23. Votes will account for 5 percent of Lindley’s total as he tries to move on to the next round of voting.

Lindley recently broke the SDSU career touchdown pass record in the season opener against Cal Poly and his total grew to 74 with a pair of scoring passes against Washington State.

Contending for the award is a credit to the quarterback, who has matured in his four years as the starter.

Lindley is also a candidate for the Maxwell Award, which is given to the most outstanding player in the country.

Fans can vote for Lindley by creating an account and voting at to

The Davey O’Brien award will be presented on Dec. 8 live on ESPN.