San Diego State University’s Independent Student Newspaper Since 1913

The Daily Aztec

San Diego State University’s Independent Student Newspaper Since 1913

The Daily Aztec

San Diego State University’s Independent Student Newspaper Since 1913

The Daily Aztec

A.S. Spring 2014 elections results announced

Photo by Wesley Beights, staff photographer

The Spring 2014 Associated Students elections came to a close Thursday evening with a 9.9 percent voter turnout and 2,916 total votes. The results are scheduled to be certified at an A.S. Judicial Affairs Council meeting on March 26, and the new student leader elects will be sworn in April 30.

Jonathan Cole was elected as next year’s A.S. President with 1809 votes, beating his competitor Gabriel Torres, who received 826 votes.

“This is really a blessing,” Cole said after the results were announced. “I’m so grateful for all the hugs and appreciation.”

All the candidates for the A.S. vice president positions ran unopposed. The four vice president elects also ran on Cole’s slate.

Kevin Hancock was elected as executive vice president, with 2,103 votes. Hancock said he’s looking forward to working with the newly-selected team to strengthen bonds between A.S. and the student body.

“I’m excited for my team to take A.S. to the next level,” Hancock said. “I really had a great time. It was a fun race.”

Jaclyn Karczewski was elected as vice president of external relations with 2,068 votes.

“I’m so excited J. Cole won,” Karczewski said. “We all work so well as a team. We’re going to have a great year representing students and uniting Aztecs.”

Alex Padua was elected for vice president of financial affairs with 1,981 votes.

“I’ve never felt this way,” Padua said. “I’m just so excited for my team and what we can accomplish.”

Corey Polant was voted in as vice president of university affairs with 1,881 votes.

“I’m excited to reach out to as many students as possible,” Polant said. “A.S. is here to give them a voice, now more than ever.”

Current A.S. Vice President of External Relations Javier Gomez said he’s looking forward to seeing what the next generation of elected student leaders has planned for the upcoming school year.

“It will be great to see what this board can do and how they can grow,” Gomez said. “They need to hone their energy to do great things.”

Campus Life Council elects: 

  • Aztec Student Union programs board representative: Jamie Miller (1,011 votes)
  • Community Service Commission representative: Abby Kim (793 votes) 
  • Recreation and Wellness commission representative: Samuel Beltran (1,635 votes)
  • Sustainability Commission representative: Patty Masengale (1,619 votes)
  • Student Diversity Commission representative: Blaire Ward (1,703 votes)
  • Student Support Commission representative: Leo Carrillo (1239)
  • Campus Community Commission representative: Osama Alkhawaja- Write-in (39 votes)
  • Student-at-Large Campus representatives: Clayton Bishop (758 votes) and Kelsey Schroeder (972 votes)

University Council elects: 

  • College of Arts and Letters representatives: Dustin Piña (119 votes),  Jordan Mishlove (154 votes) and Max Louie (125 votes)
  • College of Business representatives: Dominic Bilotti (228 votes), Manny Uwakwe (236 votes) and Nick Wright (258 votes)
  • College of Education representative: Vacant
  • College of Engineering representatives: Jose Muguerza (109 votes) and Keeler Johnston (86 votes)
  • College of Health and Human Services representatives: Jason Taresh (145 votes), Lance Brooks (144 votes) and Megan Sealy (151 votes)
  • College of Professional Studies and Fine Arts representatives: Ahamed Sanatyar (147 votes), Kalani Perez (141 votes) and Kelsey Moss (220 votes)
  • College of Science representatives: Jane Kwon (142 votes), Joshua Drayer (165 votes) Owen Burton (126 votes) and Savannah Sawaged (142 votes)
  • Undeclared/Unclassified Studies representative: Jaynie Lee (53 votes)
  • Graduate Student Association representative: Shawn Tenny (42 votes)

Photo by Wesley Beights, staff photographer  

Activate Search
San Diego State University’s Independent Student Newspaper Since 1913
A.S. Spring 2014 elections results announced